FASE 2018

21st International Conference on Fundamental Approaches to Software Engineering (FASE)

FASE is concerned with the foundations on which software engineering is built. Submissions should make novel contributions to making software engineering a more mature and soundly-based discipline. Contributions should be supported by appropriate arguments and validation. Contributions that combine the development of conceptual and methodological advances with their formal foundations and tool support are particularly encouraged. We welcome contributions on all such fundamental approaches, including:

  • Software engineering as an engineering discipline, including its interaction with and impact on society;
  • Requirements engineering: capture, consistency, and change management of software requirements;
  • Software architectures: description and analysis of the architecture of individual systems or classes of applications;
  • Specification, design, and implementation of particular classes of systems: adaptive, collaborative, embedded, distributed, mobile, pervasive, or service-oriented applications;
  • Software quality: validation and verification of software using theorem proving, model checking, testing, analysis, refinement methods, metrics or visualisation techniques;
  • Model-driven development and model transformation: meta-modelling, design and semantics of domain-specific languages, consistency and transformation of models, generative architectures;
  • Software processes: support for iterative, agile, and open source development;
  • Software evolution: refactoring, reverse and re-engineering, configuration management and architectural change, or aspect-orientation.

Important dates and submission


FASE paper categories


Special issue


Programme chairs

Alessandra Russo (Imperial College London, UK)
Andy Schürr (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany)

Programme committee

Ruth Breu (Universität Innsbruck, Austria)
Yuanfang Cai (Drexel University, USA)
Sagar Chaki (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Hana Chokler (King's College London, UK)
Ewen Denney (NASA Ames, USA)
Stefania Gnesi (ISTI-CNR, Italy)
Dilian Gurov (Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Sweden)
Orit Hazan (Technion, Israel)
Zhenjiang Hu (National Institute for Informatics, Japan)
Valérie Issarny (INRIA Paris - Rocquencourt, France)
Einar Broch Johnsen (Universitetet i Oslo, Norway)
Gerti Kappel (TU Vienna, Austria)
Ekkart Kindler (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark)
Kim Mens (Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium)
Fernando Orejas (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain)
Fabrizio Pastore (University of Milano, Italy)
Arend Rensink (University of Twente, The Netherlands)
Leila Ribeiro (University Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)
Julia Rubin (MIT and IT, USA)
Bernhard Rumpe (RWTH Aachen, Germany)
Rick Salay (University of Toronto, Canada)
Ina Schaefer (Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany)
Marjan Sirjani (Reykjavik University, Iceland)
Dániel Varró (Budapest University of Technology and Economy, Hungary)
Virginie Wiels (Onera, France)
Yingfei Xiong (Peking University, China)
Didar Zowghi (University of Technology Sidney, Australia)

Who's online

We have 86 guests and no members online

Site Hosted by