ETAPS 2016: 2-8 April 2016, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

POST 2016

5th International Conference on Principles of Security and Trust (POST)

Principles of Security and Trust is a broad forum related to the theoretical and foundational aspects of security and trust. Papers of many kinds are welcome: new theoretical results, practical applications of existing foundational ideas, and innovative theoretical approaches stimulated by pressing practical problems.

POST was created in 2012 to combine and replace a number of successful and longstanding workshops in this area: Automated Reasoning and Security Protocol Analysis (ARSPA), Formal Aspects of Security and Trust (FAST), Security in Concurrency (SecCo), and the Workshop on Issues in the Theory of Security (WITS). A subset of these events met jointly as an event affiliated with ETAPS 2011 under the name Theory of Security and Applications (TOSCA).

We seek submissions proposing theories to clarify security and trust within computer science; submissions establishing new results in existing theories; and also submissions raising fundamental concerns about existing theories. We welcome new techniques and tools to automate reasoning within such theories, or to solve security and trust problems. Case studies that reflect the strengths and limitations of foundational approaches are also welcome, as are more exploratory presentations on open questions.

Areas of interest include:

Access control Anonymity Authentication
Availability Cloud security Confidentiality
Covert channels Crypto foundations Economic issues
Information flow Integrity Languages for security
Malicious code Mobile code Models and policies
Privacy Provenance Reputation and trust
Resource usage Risk assessment Security architectures
Security protocols Trust management Web service security

Important dates and submission instructions

See the ETAPS 2016 joint call for papers. Submit your paper through the POST 2016 author interface of Easychair.

POST accepts both research papers (max 20 pp, excluding bibliography of max 2 pp) and tool demonstration papers (4+6 pp). POST 2016 will not use a rebuttal phase.

Invited speaker

Vitaly Shmatikov (Cornell Tech, USA)

Programme chairs

Frank Piessens (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium)
Luca Viganò (King's College London, UK)

Programme committee

Alessandro Armando (Università di Genova / FBK Trento, Italy)
Lujo Bauer (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Tom Chothia (University of Birmingham, UK)
Sherman Chow (Chinese University of Hong Kong, China)
Michael Clarkson (Cornell University, USA)

Jason Crampton (Royal Holloway University of London, UK)
Riccardo Focardi (Università di Venezia "Ca' Foscari", Italy)
Deepak Garg (Max Planck Institute for Software Systems, Germany)
Peeter Laud (Cybernetica, Estonia)
Jay Ligatti (University of South Florida, USA)
Gavin Lowe (University of Oxford, UK)
Matteo Maffei (Universität des Saarlandes, Germany)
Catherine Meadows (Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
Sebastian Mödersheim (Danmarks Tekniske Universitet, Denmark)
Alexander Pretschner (Technische Universität München, Germany)

Willard Rafnsson (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Tamara Rezk (INRIA Sophia Antipolis - Méditerranée, France)
Michael Rusinowitch (LORIA, INRIA Nancy - Grand Est, France)
Peter Y. A. Ryan (Université de Luxembourg, Luxembourg)
Pierangela Samarati (Università di Milano, Italy)

Deian Stefan (Stanford University, USA)
Nikhil Swamy (Microsoft Research Redmond, USA)
Vanessa Teague (University of Melbourne, Australia)