ETAPS 2013: 16-24 March 2013, Rome, Italy

POST 2013

2nd Conference on Principles of Security and Trust (POST 2013)

Principles of Security and Trust is a broad forum related to the theoretical and foundational aspects of security and trust. Papers of many kinds are welcome: new theoretical results, practical applications of existing foundational ideas, and innovative theoretical approaches stimulated by pressing practical problems.

POST combines and replaces a number of successful and longstanding workshops in this area: Automated Reasoning and Security Protocol Analysis (ARSPA), Formal Aspects of Security and Trust (FAST), Security in Concurrency (SecCo), and the Workshop on Issues in the Theory of Security (WITS). A subset of these events met jointly as an event affiliated with ETAPS 2011 under the name Theory of Security and Applications (TOSCA).

We seek submissions proposing theories to clarify security and trust within computer science; submissions establishing new results in existing theories; and also submissions raising fundamental concerns about existing theories. We welcome new techniques and tools to automate reasoning within such theories, or to solve security and trust problems. Case studies that reflect the strengths and limitations of foundational approaches are also welcome, as are more exploratory presentations on open questions.

Areas of interest include:

Access control Anonymity Authentication
Availability Cloud security Confidentiality
Covert channels Crypto foundations Economic issues
Information flow Integrity Languages for security
Malicious code Mobile code Models and policies
Privacy Provenance Reputation and trust
Resource usage Risk assessment Security architectures
Security protocols Trust management Web service security

Productive techniques have included automated reasoning, compositionality and transformation, language-based methods, logical formalization, quantitative methods, and static analysis.

Important dates and submission

See the common call for papers of ETAPS 2013. Submit your paper via the POST 2013 author interface of Easychair.

Invited speaker

Jean-Pierre Hubaux (EPFL, Losanna, Switzerland)

Programme co-chairs

David Basin (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
John Mitchell (Standford University, USA)

Programme committee

Martin Abadi (Univ. California Santa Cruz, USA)
Alessandro Acquisti (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Gilles Barthe (IMDEA Software, Spain)
Lujo Bauer (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Bruno Blanchet (Ecole Normale Supérieure, France)
Jan Camenisch (IBM Zurich, Switzerland)
Mihai Christodorescu (IBM Research, USA)
Veronique Cortier (CNRS, LORIA, France)
Pierpaolo Degano (University of Pisa, Italy)
Deepak Garg (Max Planck Institute for Software Systems, Germany)
Andrew Gordon (Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK and University of Edinburgh, UK)
Joshua Guttman (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA)
Boris Köpf (IMDEA, Spain)
Steve Kremer (INRIA, ENS Cachan, France)
Ralf Küsters (Universität Trie, Germany)
Ben Livshits (Microsoft Research, USA)
Gavin Lowe (University of Oxford, UK)
Sjouke Mauw (University of Luxembourg)
Sebastian Moedersheim (Danmarks Tekniske Universitet, Denmark)
Alexander Pretschner (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
Andrei Sabelfeld (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
Dominique Unruh (University of Tartu, Estonia)
Luca Viganò (University of Verona, Italy)